Skip To Content
Painting by Chante Fontaine, C'2011

Carnegie Corporation of New York and the John D. Rockefeller Foundation Division of the Arts Priority Award

The Division of the Arts Carnegie/Rockefeller Priority Award prioritizes faculty engaged in creative practices through making, performing, or exhibiting original work.  

2021-2022 Award Winners

During the academic year 2020-2021, five faculty in the arts were awarded Carnegie/Rockefeller Division of the Arts Priority Awards. Faculty who received the awards are Erin Washington (Department of Theater & Performance), Jaycee Holmes & T.Lang (Department of Art & Visual Culture, and Department of Dance Performance & Choreography), Nydia Blas (Department of Art & Visual Culture), and Paula Grissom Boughton, Ph.D. (Department of Music). Each recipient received $3,000.00 and had six months to deliver the project. Following is information about their projects.

Ayoka Chenzira
Division Chair for the Arts


The passion, imaginative thinking, and commitment to wrestling with ideas is evident inblue-quote-right each project. 

The Division Chair of the Arts, Dr. Ayoka Chenzira

Faculty Recipients