Skip To Content
Pauline E. Drake Scholars

Strategic Partnerships

Strategic Partnerships at Spelman College


General Agreements (5+)

General Agreements are used periodically to place students at these agencies for internships and research opportunities during the academic year and summer. The hospital agreements are primarily for psychology students who are completing a fieldwork experience. The EPA agreement is for any student who is interested in research opportunities with the EPA. The Lewis-Sigler Institute is primarily for students and faculty in the sciences. The HBX program is for economics students and is an intensive online business primer offering three classes – business analytics, economics for managers, and financial accounting. Similarly, the HBCU Fellows program is for high achieving undergraduates who want to  pursue a range of master’s programs at Columbia’s School of Professional Studies.  

Participating Programs | Organizations

Grady Memorial Hospital
Environmental Protection Agency, Region 4
Lewis-Sigler Institute, Princeton University
Undergraduate Summer Program
Visiting Faculty Fellows
Georgia Regional Hospital
Harvard University School of Business (HBX)
Columbia University – HBCU Fellowship Initiative

Domestic Exchange Agreements (30+)

Domestic Exchange Agreements are formal agreements that provide mutual exchange opportunities for students at both schools. Students may study for a semester or year.  There is typically no exchange of money and students pay their institution’s tuition and housing fees to their home school. There are a few exceptions; in these instances, students pay the designated fees (i.e., housing) directly to the host institution. The most popular exchange institutions are NYU, Barnard, Duke and Stanford. We average 18-25 participants each year.

Participating Schools

Babson College
Barnard College (Columbia University)
Bates College Bryn Mawr College
Claremont McKenna
Connecticut College
Darthmouth College
Dickinson College
Duke University
Grinnell College Haverford College
Louisiana State University
Loyola Marymount University
Middlebury College
Mills College
Mount Holyoke College
New York University
Ohio Wesleyan University
Pitzer College

Pomona College
Sarah Lawrence College
Scripps College
Simmons College
Skidmore College
Smith College
Stanford University
Tufts University
The New School
University of California @ San Diego
University of California, Berkeley
University of Southern California
Washington and Lee
Wellesley College
Eugene Lang College/The New School for Liberal Arts

Dual Degree Agreements (15)

Dual Degree Agreements allow Spelman students to obtain a liberal arts degree from Spelman and an engineering degree from one of the participating schools. The student will complete three years at Spelman and two years at the engineering school. The student may have a Spelman major.  If the student does not have a Spelman major, she will earn a general science degree once all of the requirements are completed at the engineering school. Ten to twelve students transfer to one of the following participating engineering schools each year on average.     


Auburn University
California Institute of Technology
Clarkson University
Columbia University
Dartmouth College
Georgia Institute of Technology
Indiana University
Missouri University of Science and Technology

North Carolina A&T State University
Purdue University
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute                              
Rochester Institute of Technology
University of Alabama-Huntsville
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
University of Notre Dame
University of Southern California

Education Department Agreements

Education Department Agreements govern student teacher placements for students completing the Teacher Education Program.  These experiences are generally 12-week and are governed by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission and NCATE guidelines.  On average, ten students are student teaching each spring semester.   

Auburn University  
Atlanta Public Schools
Atlanta International Academy
Decatur City Schools
Dekalb County Schools

Eastern Connecticut State University
Fulton Leadership Academy
Holy Innocents Episcopal School
Westfield State University
Wesley International Academy

Health Career Agreements (20+)

Health Careers Agreements are designed for students interested in the health professions. These agreements prepare students for early admissions, increase their exposure to specific knowledge/experiences, ensure completion of necessary prerequisites and strengthen their application to medical school. 

University of South Alabama, Medical    
University of Wisconsin-RUSCH    
Georgetown University-CAM, Graduate School    
Boston University Medical School EMSSP    
University of Connecticut Dental    
University of Rochester, Medical    
University of Rochester, Dental    
Lake Erie College of Medicine - School of Dentistry    
Lake Erie College of Medicine- School of Pharmacy    
Lake Erie College of Medicine - School of
Osteopathic Medicine   
Nova Southeastern University School of Optometry (pending)    
Auburn University, Master of Science in Exercise Science    
University of Michigan College of Pharmacy    
Morehouse School of Medicine, Medicine    
Augusta University, Nursing    
Rush University, Nursing    
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Medicine Emory University School of Nursing    
University of Rochester, Nursing    
Ohio State University (pending)    
Mayo Clinic and BU Public Health (pending)    
Georgia Regents University College of Nursing

Study Abroad Agreements (9)

Study Abroad Agreements formalize a variety of exchange experiences -- semester, summer, academic year.  These exchange experiences are provided through consortia agreements with partner institutions and organizations and make it possible for our students to study in over 40 countries. Some financial aid and scholarship assistance is available to support study broad experiences.  On average, over 100 students participate in Study Abroad programs.

Latin America    
New Zealand    
ASE (Advanced Studies in England)   
United Kingdom    
New Zealand    
Chile, Valparaiso    
Chile, Santiago    
Costa Rica    
All Countries


Morocco: Field Studies in Journalism    
South Africa: South and Political Transformation    
Morocco: Migration and Identity    
Morocco: Multiculturalism and Human Rights    
Argentina: Social Movements and Human Rights    
Tanzania: Zanzibar Coastal Ecology    

Beijing, China    
Florence, Italy    
Hong Kong, China    
Madrid, Spain     
Santiago, Chile    
Strasbourg, France