Skip To Content
Board of Trustees

Spelman College Board of Trustees

Trustee Responsibilities

The board provides strategic leadership to the College by employing its members' expertise in everything from finance and international affairs to philanthropy and science.

A trustee acts as a member of the governing board of Spelman College which is responsible for basic oversight and governance of the institution including election of the president of the College; basic educational and fiscal policy; the granting of degrees; and promotion and tenure of faculty based on the recommendation of the president. The board’s authority as a governing body is set forth in the bylaws and is not managerial or operational in nature. Individual trustees have no authority independent of the board.


Shenika Swan
Board Operations Director

Winston Savoy
Executive Assistant and Clerk of the Board

Officers of the Board

Lovette T. Russell, C’83, Chair
Senior Consultant
Coxe Curry & Associates

Colleen J. Taylor, C’90, Vice-Chair
President, American Express U.S. Merchant Services

Ronda E. Stryker, Vice-Chair
Board of Directors, Stryker Corporation

Gwendolyn Adams NortonSecretary
Artist, Philanthropist, Former Finance Professional

Board of Trustees


Lisa Hibbard, Faculty Representative
Keva Wright Berry, C'79, Alumna Representative
Breah Banks, C'2024, Student Representative 

Chair Emerita

Rosalind G. Brewer, C’84, Chair Emerita

Life Trustees

Peggy Dulany
Marian Wright Edelman, C’60
Russell Edgerton
June Gary Hopps, C’60
Yvonne Jackson, C'70 
Elizabeth McCormack
G.G. Michelson
Vicki Palmer