Skip To Content
Students on Steps of Sisters Chapel

Spelman IRB Members

Who is on the IRB?

In accordance with Federal regulations (45 CFR §46.107), the Spelman College IRB is composed of members with varying backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of research activities commonly conducted at Spelman College.

There are representatives from the natural sciences, social sciences (both quantitative and qualitative), and the humanities. Also in accordance with Federal regulations, the Spelman College IRB includes at least one member who is not an academic and at least one member who is not affiliated with the college; the regulations permit the same individual to serve in both of these roles.

On occasion, the IRB may invite individuals with competence in special areas to assist with the review of issues requiring expertise beyond or in addition to that available on the IRB. In accordance with Federal regulations (45 CFR §46.107 (f)), such experts participate on a non-voting basis only.

New IRB members may apply or be nominated by other faculty members to serve on the board.  IRB members will have the opportunity to discuss nominees before forwarding the names for recommendation to the Associate Provost for Research. 

Appointment to the Board is made by the Associate Provost for Research as needed.  Membership terms extend for three years, renewable for up to two additional terms. Co-chairs (2) will be elected by the full IRB and will serve a two-year term, renewable for two additional terms.  Co-chair terms should be staggered to allow overlap.  IRB membership may be terminated by vote of a quorum or determination of co-chairs for reasons of non-participation, non-performance, and/or ethical violations.  

The IRB will consist of a minimum of 13 members plus the institutional representative. A quorum will include at least 50 percent of active members.

Spelman College IRB Members

  • Shani Harris, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Psychology
  • Nicole Taylor, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Chair, Education
  • Jessica Terrien Dunn, Ph.D., Lecturer, Environmental & Health Sciences
  • Sylvia Griffin, Ph.D., Dean of Students, Student Life and Engagement
  • Michael Burns-Kaurin, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Physics
  • Melvina Norwood, Ph.D. (external member)
  • Natarajan Ravi, Ph.D., Professor, Physics
  • Chatee’ (Omi) Richardson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Education
  • Anna Ventura, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer, Biology
  • Natalie Watson-Singleton, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Psychology
  • Shay Welch, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Philosophy & Religious Studies
  • Erica Williams, Ph.D., Professor, Sociology & Anthropology
  • Enjoli Willis, Ph.D., Lecturer, Environmental & Health Sciences