Skip To Content

Presidential Faculty Awards

During this year’s Opening Convocation, Spelman College President Helene Gayle, Ph.D., MPH, kicked off the 2022-2023 academic year by honoring several faculty with presidential awards for their commitment to scholarship, excellence and mentoring.

Excellence in Teaching, Tracie Anjanette Levert, MFA
Excellence in Scholarship, Alexandria Lockett, Ph.D.
Excellence in Service, Tina Pavri, Ph.D.
Excellence in Mentoring, Yonas Tekle, Ph.D.
Vulcan Materials Company Teaching Excellence, Retina Burton, M.S.

Retina Burton

Retina Burton Spelman College Dual Degree Program
Director of Dual Degree Program/Office of Science, Engineering & Technical Careers
  • Physics
  • Dual Degree Engineering

Faculty member since 2005

350 Spelman Lane , Box 247
Atlanta, Georgia 30314
Phone: 404-270-5870
Office Location: Tapley Hall Suite 126, Room 124

EducationExpand Education

BiographyExpand Biography

Previous Award Recipients

2019 Recipients

  • Shanina Sanders-Johnson, Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Luis González-Barrios, Assistant Professor, Spanish, World Languages and Culture
  • Kai McCormack;Chair, G-STEM Director, Associate Professor, Psychology
  • Yan Xu, eSpeman Online Program Director, Associate Professor of History
  • Cynthia Neal Spence,Co-chair of Sociology and Anthropology, Social Justice Fellows Program Director, UNCF/Mellon Programs Director and Associate Professor

2018 Recipients

2017 Recipients

  • Richard Benson II, Ph.D., assistant professor of education, Excellence in Scholarship Award
  • Margery Ganz, Ph.D., professor emerita of history, Excellence in Service Award
  • Jerry Volcy, Ph.D., Brown-Simmons professor of computer and information sciences, director of the Spelman Innovation Lab, Excellence in Mentoring Award
  • Ashante' Reese, Ph.D., assistant professor of sociology and anthropology, Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Dorian Crosby, Ph.D., assistant professor of political science, Vulcan Materials Company Teaching Excellence Award

2016 Recipients

Newly Tenured Faculty

2015 Recipients

  • Jeffrey Ehme, Ph.D., professor and chair of mathematics, Senior Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Jimmeka Guillory, Ph.D., assistant professor of psychology, Junior Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Christine Sizemore, Ph.D., professor emerita of English, Senior Faculty Excellence in Scholarship Award
  • Jakita Thomas, Ph.D., assistant professor of computer science, Junior Faculty Excellence in Scholarship Award
  • Anne Bradford Warner, Ph.D., associate professor of English (retired) and director emerita of the Comprehensive Writing Program, Distinguished Service Award
  • Leyte Winfield, Ph.D., associate professor and chair of chemistry and biochemistry, Vulcan Award for Teaching Excellence

2014 Recipients

2013 Recipients

  • Mark Lee, Ph.D., associate professor of biology, Senior Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Jakita Thomas, Ph.D., C'99, assistant professor of computer information science, Junior Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Colm Mulcahy, Ph.D., professor of mathematics, Senior Faculty Scholarship Award
  • Yonas Tekle, Ph.D., assistant professor of biology, Junior Faculty Scholarship Award
  • Pushpa Parekh, Ph.D., professor of English, Distinguished Service Award
  • Erica Williams, Ph.D., assistant professor of sociology and anthropology,
    Vulcan Award for Teaching Excellence