Skip To Content

Presidential Faculty Awards at Spelman

During this year’s Opening Convocation in August, Spelman College President Helene Gayle kicked off the 2023-2024 academic year by honoring several faculty with presidential awards for their commitment to scholarship, excellence and mentoring.

Celebrate Spelman's Stellar Faculty for Their Dedication

Excellence in Teaching, Senior Faculty
Lisa Hibbard, Ph.D., Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry 

Excellence in Teaching, Junior Faculty
Joycelyn Wilson, M.S., Senior Instructor, Mathematics 

Excellence in Scholarship, Senior Faculty
Patricia Ventura, Ph.D., Associate Professor, English
Excellence in Scholarship, Junior Faculty
Guanyu Huang, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Environmental and Health Sciences

Excellence in Service
Leyte Winfield, Ph.D., Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Excellence in Mentoring
Michelle Gaines, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Teaching Excellence Award, Vulcan Materials Company Award
Chatee' Richardson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Education


Lisa Hibbard, Ph.D.

Lisa Hibbard
Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Chemistry and Biochemistry

Faculty member since 1985

350 Spelman Lane , Box 218
Atlanta, Georgia 30314
Phone: 404-270-5745
Office Location: Albro-Falconer-Manley Science Center 346

EducationExpand Education

BiographyExpand Biography

Courses TaughtExpand Courses Taught

Research InterestsExpand Research Interests

Select PublicationsExpand Select Publications

Previous Award Recipients


Excellence in Teaching, Tracie Anjanette Levert, MFA
Excellence in Scholarship, Alexandria Lockett, Ph.D.
Excellence in Service, Tinaz Pavri, Ph.D.
Excellence in Mentoring, Yonas Tekle, Ph.D.
Vulcan Materials Company Teaching Excellence, Retina Burton, M.S.