Skip To Content
Spelman College

Division Chairs

To maximize efficiency and to further develop a rich academic environment that fosters excellence and teaching innovation, Spelman College has a divisional structure with four divisions headed by a division chair who is appointed by the Provost. Division Chairs are nominated or self-nominated from tenured faculty at large. Learn more about the College's division chairs and the majors, minors and programs they oversee.

Marionette Holmes Interim Division Chair of the Arts

MARIONETTE HOLMES, Ph.D., associate professor, Chair, Economics Department, and Interim Division Chair of the Arts, serves on the boards of the Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession and the Sadie Collective. She is also an advisory board member of the Journal of Economic Perspectives.

Spelman Division Chair Leyte Winfield
Division Chair for Natural
Science and Mathematics

LEYTE WINFIELD, Ph.D., associate professor of chemistry, posses leadership experience that extends across and beyond the academic environment, including fifteen years of service in the United States Army Reserve.

Academic Oversight and Profile

Divisioin Chair Kathleen Phillips-Lewis
Division Chair for the Humanities

KATHLEEN PHILLIPS LEWIS, Ph.D., associate professor of history, has served the College in numerous roles including director of cultural orientation for the Gordon-Zeto Center for Global Education, faculty council president, faculty representative on the Board of Trustees, and director of the African Diaspora and the World Program.

Academic Oversight and Profile

Division Chair Tinaz Pavri
Division Chair for Social
Sciences and Education

TINAZ PAVRI, Ph.D., is founding director of the Asian Studies Program and professor of political science. Her geographic area of expertise is South Asia with research and publication interests in conflict resolution, national identity, and globalization.

Academic Oversight and Profile

Graphic of Spelman + Kaplan Partnership