Skip To Content

Presidential Faculty Awards

During this year’s Opening Convocation, Spelman College President Mary Schmidt Campbell, Ph.D., kicked off the 2019-2020 academic year by honoring several faculty with presidential awards for their commitment to scholarship, excellence and mentoring.

Excellence in Teaching, Luis Gonzalez-Barrios, Ph.D.
Excellence in Scholarship, Yan Xu, Ph.D.
Excellence in Service, Cynthia Neal Spence, Ph.D.
Excellence in Mentoring, Kai McCormack, Ph.D.
Vulcan Materials Company Teaching Excellence, Shanina Sanders-Johnson, Ph.D.

Shanina Sanders-Johnson, Ph.D.

Shanina Sanders

Assistant Professor

  • Chemistry and Biochemistry

Faculty member since 2011

350 Spelman Lane , Box 1134
Atlanta, Georgia 30314
Phone: 404-270-5758
Office Location: Albro-Falconer-Manley Science Center 379

Download CV

EducationExpand Education

BiographyExpand Biography

Courses TaughtExpand Courses Taught

Research InterestsExpand Research Interests

Select PublicationsExpand Select Publications

2018 Award Recipients

Previous Award Recipients

2018 Recipients

2017 Recipients

  • Richard Benson II, Ph.D., assistant professor of education, Excellence in Scholarship Award
  • Margery Ganz, Ph.D., professor emerita of history, Excellence in Service Award
  • Jerry Volcy, Ph.D., Brown-Simmons professor of computer and information sciences, director of the Spelman Innovation Lab, Excellence in Mentoring Award
  • Ashante' Reese, Ph.D., assistant professor of sociology and anthropology,  Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Dorian Crosby, Ph.D., assistant professor of political science, Vulcan Materials Company Teaching Excellence Award

2016 Recipients

Newly Tenured Faculty

2015 Recipients

  • Jeffrey Ehme, Ph.D., professor and chair of mathematics, Senior Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Jimmeka Guillory, Ph.D., assistant professor of psychology, Junior Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Christine Sizemore, Ph.D., professor emerita of English, Senior Faculty Excellence in Scholarship Award
  • Jakita Thomas, Ph.D., assistant professor of computer science, Junior Faculty Excellence in Scholarship Award
  • Anne Bradford Warner, Ph.D., associate professor of English (retired) and director emerita of the Comprehensive Writing Program, Distinguished Service Award
  • Leyte Winfield, Ph.D., associate professor and chair of chemistry and biochemistry, Vulcan Award for Teaching Excellence

2014 Recipients

  • Michael Burns-Kaurin, Ph.D., associate professor of physics, Senior Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Jennifer Kovacs, Ph.D., assistant professor of biology, Junior Faculty
    Excellence in Teaching Award
  • Aditi Pai, Ph.D., associate professor of biology, Senior Faculty Scholarship Award
  • A. Nayena Blankson, Ph.D., assistant professor of psychology, Junior Faculty Scholarship Award
  • Soraya Merkerta, director of the African Diaspora and the World Program and associate professor of French and Francophone studies, Distinguished Service Award
  • Angelino Viceisza, Ph.D., assistant professor of economics, Vulcan Award for Teaching Excellence

2013 Recipients

Faculty Resources

AUC Library
Course Sequence Booklet
Teaching Resource & Research Center
WordPress Help


Spelman Events CalendarEvents
Spelman Academic CalendarAcademic

Faculty Excellence at Spelman College (PDF)

Faculty Excellence 2020