Skip To Content
Campus Collage

Trustee: Lisa Hibbard

Lisa Hibbard

Professor of Chemistry at Spelman
Spelman Faculty Board Representatives

Having taught the general and physical chemistry sequences for over 35 years, Lisa Hibbard, Ph.D., has more recently shifted her research focus to the scholarship of teaching and learning.

A biophysical chemist by training, she has introduced innovative course pedagogies including blended/flipped learning and adaptive learning techniques, the work for which was supported by two NSF education grants. She is known for incorporating active learning in her classes such as process-oriented guided inquiry learning and team-based case studies as well as for using mastery-based assessment strategies.

Dr. Hibbard is the recipient of the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award, the Vulcan Materials Company Teaching Excellence Award, the Spelman College Presidential Faculty Award for Distinguished Service, the Quality Education for Minorities (QEM) Excellence in Mathematics or Science Teaching Award, and the Spelman College Presidential Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching.

She has also been elected a Marquis Who’s Who Top Educator, named to Academic Keys Who’s Who in Sciences Higher Education, and is a Fellow of the Georgia Academy of Science. She currently serves as president of the Spelman College Faculty Council, having served previously for seven years as chair of the Department of Chemistry and for six years as Chair of the Education Technology Committee.