Skip To Content
Inauguratoin Arts Celebration

Arts Celebration

Celebrating the Expression of Equality Through the Arts

Saturday, April 9, 2016 | 8 p.m.
Atlanta Symphony Hall
The Woodruff Arts Center
1280 Peachtree Street, NE
Atlanta, Georgia 30309

Arts Celebration Photo Gallery

Full Program

Pre-Performance (7 p.m.)
T. Lang, Assistant Professor of Dance, Spelman College

Ayoka Chenzira, Ph.D., Division Chair of the Arts and Humanities, 
Founding Director, Digital Moving Image Salon, Spelman College

“A Choice to Change th e World ”
Sarah Benibo, C’2007, and Kevin Johnson, D.M.A., Director, Spelman College Glee Club
Spelman College Glee Club

“The Eleven” Spoken Word
Spelman Students
Seniors: Dejah Ault and Lynae Bouges
Juniors: Maya Lawrence and Maleena Frazier
Sophomores: Sharon-Saffold Harris, Mackenzie Millet and Taylor Stephens
First Year Students: Chancia Fairley, Maxine Ford and Christine Singleton

Introduction of Mistress of Ceremonies

Maya Lawrence, C’2017

Mistress of Ceremonies

Shaun Robinson, C’84, Journalist and Television Personality

“Mash Up”

Urban Bush Women

“The Eleven Part Two” Spoken Word
Spelman Students

Introduction of Playwright

LaTanya Richardson Jackson, C’74, Actor and Producer

”The Nacirema Society Requests the Honor of Your Presence at a Celebration of Their First One Hundred Years”

Pearl Cleage, C’71, Poet, Playwright and Novelist

Andrea Frye
Margo Moorer – Grace
Jen Harper – Marie
Kennedy Blanchard – Gracie
Maya Lawrence, C’2017 – Maid
“We Are”
Ysaye Barnell, Ph.D., Spelman College Glee Club

Claire “Yum” Arnold, Trustee, Spelman College Board of Trustees
Rosalind G. Brewer, C’84, Chair, Spelman College Board of Trustees
Mary Schmidt Campbell, Ph.D., Tenth President, Spelman College


Dianne McIntyre, Distinguished Visiting Scholar, Spelman College
Spelman College Glee Club