Student Life: Student Life and Engagement

Class Council

The Spelman Student Government Association (SSGA) is composed of student representatives who meet regularly to discuss matters of general concern regarding students. The assembly acts as a liaison between the student body and the faculty, staff and administration.

Representatives present proposals, programs, activities and resolutions that reflect the tenor of student opinion. They also seek to further sisterhood among Spelman women as well as to help students gain an understanding of themselves, our society and our heritage. In addition to discussing educational and social issues confronting Spelman College students, the Student Government Association allocates funds to all student clubs and organizations to assist them with their programming and leadership needs.

For further information, please contact Spelman's Student Government Association at 404-270-5967.

2015-16 Class Council

First-Year Class Council

President: Mary-Patricia Hector
Vice President: Bria Page
Administrative Director: Chelsi McFarland
Parliamentarian: Leah Herring
Treasurer: Vacant 
Class Representative: Mahagony Williams-Lucas
Co-Publicity Chairs: Erielle Scott, Lillian Thomas
Co-Social Chair: Miah Hardy

Sophomore Class Council

President: Taylor Debnam
Vice President: Honesty Nealy
Secretary: Brelynn Hunt
Class Representative: Hannah Floyd
Treasurer: Tiara Lacey
Justice: Melaine Ferndinand- King
Co-Social Chairs: Lauren Winston, Jasmine Griffin
Co-Publicity Chairs: Briana Whitmore, Jordan Branch
Community Service Chair: Lena Wright
Fundraising Chair: Nautica Jacobs
Media Director: Ashanna Morris
Parliamentarian: Christha Edwards

Junior Class Council

President: Amber Hobbs
Vice President: Jasmine Jervis
Secretary: Aiyana Parks 
Justice: Mirabella Nwaka
Treasurer: Imani Fennell
Class Representative: Danielle Marshall
Parliamentarian: Kayla Hunter
Fundraising Chair: Kennedy Mack
Community Service Co-Chairs: LaMani Adkins, Prenessa Lowery 
Publicity Chair: Nyla Nation
Social Co-Chairs: Kevia Croft, Alexis Parker

Senior Class Council

President: Neah Evering 
Vice President: Taylor Cobb 
Secretary: Koya Ferrell 
Co-Social Chair: Azurai Thompson
Justice: Tobi Shannon 
Community Service Director: Ally Strickland 
Co-Community Service Chair: London Arnold
Publicity Chair: Danyelle Carter


House of Representatives
The House of Representatives is the legislative branch of the Spelman Student Government Association. They assist in the governance of chartered student organizations.

Class Councils
Provide each class with social outlets to raise school spirit, provide means of fundraising, and promote community service. Members of each Class Council have an arena to constructively voice concerns and become actively involved in class activities and the College community.

Freshman Class Council
This council enhances the growth of the freshman class through the interaction of academic, social and spiritual activities.

Sophomore Class Council
The council unites, empowers, advances and encourages the sophomore class. They also communicate with SSGA, peers, administration and the neighboring community to create a more cohesive environment that nurtures academic, social and spiritual growth.

Junior Class Council
This council serves the junior class through community service and enrichment activities. They also serve as a voice to the administration and community through representation.

Senior Class Council
This council serves as a voice for the senior class. In addition, the organization gathers suggestions from the class regarding class activities such as graduation and represents class concerns to the Spelman administration.