Academics: Office of the Provost

  • Apply Now

Spelman IRB Members

Who is on the IRB?

In accordance with Federal regulations (45 CFR §46.107), the Spelman College IRB is composed of members with varying backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of research activities commonly conducted at Spelman College.

There are representatives from the natural sciences, social sciences (both quantitative and qualitative), and the humanities.

Also in accordance with Federal regulations, the Spelman College IRB includes at least one member who is not an academic and at least one member who is not affiliated with the college; the regulations permit the same individual to serve in both of these roles. The current membership of the Spelman College IRB is as follows:  

• Karen Brakke, Ph.D., associate professor and chair, psychology

• Paul J. Camp, Ph.D., assistant professor, physics

• Kimberly Jackson, Ph.D., associate professor, chemistry

• Nami Kim, Ph.D., associate professor, philosophy & religious studies

• Mark Lee, Ph.D., associate professor and chair, biology

• Kai McCormack, Ph.D., assistant professor, psychology

• Carmen Sidbury, Ph.D., associate provost of research

• Monica Melton, Ph.D., assistant professor, women's studies

• Terry L. Parks, Ph.D (external member)

• Shani Harris, Ph.D., associate professor, psychology

• Natarajan Ravi, Ph.D., associate professor, physics

• Bruce Wade, Ph.D., professor, sociology and
anthropology; director, Census Information Center, co-chair

• Celeste Walley-Jean, Ph.D., associate professor of psychology, Clayton State University

• Daryl White, Ph.D., professor and chair, sociology and anthropology


On occasion, the IRB may invite individuals with competence in special areas to assist with the review of issues requiring expertise beyond or in addition to that available on the IRB. In accordance with Federal regulations (45 CFR §46.107 (f)), such experts participate on a non-voting basis only.