Academics: Majors and Programs

Biology Faculty

Spelman's Scientific Community

Science at Spelman College includes more than 40 faculty in biology, chemistry, environmental science, mathematics, computer science and physics departments.

Biology faculty at Spelman receive substantial support for faculty development in research and teaching from a variety of extramural sources including NIH, NSF, and HHMI. Student-faculty collaborative research is supported by ongoing funding from a variety of federal and private programs. Faculty have also developed an impressive track record of substantial individual research support in the form of competitive awards from extramural sources such as NIH and NSF.

The Center for Biomedical and Behavioral Research supports junior faculty development and sponsors an ongoing seminar program that brings biomedical investigators from around the country to present their research to the Spelman science community.

The Broader Atlanta Community

Additionally, Spelman benefits from many opportunities for interaction with four major research universities nearby including Georgia State University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Emory University, and the University of Georgia.

The Atlanta-based Center for Behavioral Neuroscience connects Spelman neuroscientists with investigators across the metro area. Grant funded programming between Emory University and Spelman College supports mutually beneficial research and teaching exchanges between the two institutions.

Contact Us

Science Center

Additional Contact Info