Academics: Gordon-Zeto Center for Global Education

Global Education Advisory Committee

The Global Education Advisory Committee (GEAC) is a platform for ensuring continued involvement and engagement of the faculty and staff in the College’s comprehensive internationalization initiatives. Chaired by the Associate Provost for Global Education, membership is drawn from various constituencies on the Campus. GEAC's sixteen-member committee functions through four sub-committees in the following areas:

Scholarship Committee
  (reviews students' application for the Gordon-Zeto and Gates Scholarship for summer study-travel programs); Programming Committee (plans the International Education Week & Spelman Going Global Day!); Study-Travel Programs Committee (reviews new faculty/staff study-travel program proposals, student evaluations of the pre-departure Study-Travel Seminar (STS 100) and suggest recommendations for improving the seminar, and yearly reports of study- travel programs); and the Assessment Committee (headed by Dr.Togunde, reviews QEP Assessment data and provides suggestions for improvement).


Dr. Johnnella E. Butler, Provost and Vice-President for Academic Affairs

Dr. Myra Burnett, Vice-Provost for Academic Affairs

Dr. Desiree Pedescleaux, Dean of Undergraduate Studies

Dr. Soraya Mekerta, Director, African Diaspora & the World Program

Dr. Frederick Langhorst, Chair, Dept. of World Languages & Literature

Dr. Kai McCormack, Associate Professor of Psychology and Co-Director, G-STEM Program

Dr. Jeanne Meadows, Director, International Affairs Center

Dr. Dorian Crosby, Director of Cultural Orientation

Dr. Mark Lee, Associate Professor and Chair, Biology Department

Dr. Veta Goler, Division Chair of Humanities

Dr. Erica Williams, Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Dr. Margery Ganz, Professor of History & Director of Study Abroad

Ms. Kimberly Ferguson, Dean of Students

Ms. Jill Triplett, Director, Office of Institutional Research, Assessment and Planning

Dr. ‘Dimeji Togunde, Associate Provost for Global Education & Professor of International Studies – Committee Chair

  • Apply Now