About Us: President's Office

Make a Donation 

Spelman Messenger - Spelmanite Trustees

Spelman Alumnae Trustees PDF
(from Spelman Messenger)

Spelman College Graduates with President Beverly Daniel Tatum

Spelman College Board of Trustees

The board provides strategic leadership to the College by employing its members' expertise in everything from finance and international affairs to philanthropy and science.

Trustee responsibilities

A trustee acts as a member of the governing board of Spelman College which is responsible for basic oversight and governance of the institution including election of the president of the College; basic educational and fiscal policy; the granting of degrees; and promotion and tenure of faculty based on the recommendation of the president. The board’s authority as a governing body is set forth in the bylaws and is not managerial or operational in nature. Individual trustees have no authority independent of the board.

Tamaria Kai Perry, C'2001
Secretary of the College

DeBorah Wilson
Clerk of the Board of Trustees and Assistant to the Secretary of the College

Meet the Board

Walter R. Allen, Ph.D.

Claire “Yum” Arnold

Theodore R. Aronson

Gena Hudgins-Ashe, C'83

Rosalind G. Brewer C’84

Mary Brock

Janine Brown

Thomas H. Castro

Donald A. Coleman

Kaye Foster-Cheek

Kimberly B. Davis, C’81

Mary Lynne Diggs, C'77

Evelynn Hammonds, Ph.D., C’76

Mya Havard, C'2017

Cynthia E. Jackson, C81

Pamela Joseph

Richard D. Legon

Gwendolyn Adams Norton

Lovette Twyman Russell, C’83

Suzanne F. Shank

Esther Silver-Parker

Cynthia Neal Spence, Ph.D., C’78

Ronda E. Stryker

Beverly Daniel Tatum, Ph.D.

Kathy N. Waller

Celeste Watkins-Hayes, Ph.D., C’96


Daphne L. Smith, C'80, National Alumnae Association Spelman College President
Romie Tribble, Faculty Council President
Mary Pickard, C'2015, Spelman Student Government Association President

Life Trustees:

Laura Chasin
Peggy Dulany, Ed.D.
Marian Wright Edelman, Esq., C’60
Russell Edgerton, Ph.D.
Robert Holland, Jr.
June Gary Hopps, Ph.D., C’60
Yvonne Jackson, C'70 
Elizabeth McCormack, Ph.D.
G.G. Michelson