About Us: President's Office

Board of Trustees

Spelman College Board of Trustees

The board provides strategic leadership to the College by employing its members' expertise in everything from finance and international affairs to philanthropy and science.

Trustee Responsibilities

A trustee acts as a member of the governing board of Spelman College which is responsible for basic oversight and governance of the institution including election of the president of the College; basic educational and fiscal policy; the granting of degrees; and promotion and tenure of faculty based on the recommendation of the president. The board’s authority as a governing body is set forth in the bylaws and is not managerial or operational in nature. Individual trustees have no authority independent of the board.

Terri H. Reed, Ph.D.
Secretary of the College

DeBorah D. Wilson
Clerk of the Board of Trustees



Walter R. Allen, Ph.D.
Professor, University of California, Los Angeles
Co-investigator, “Educational Diversity in U.S. Law Schools"
B.A., Beloit College
M.A. and Ph.D., University of  Chicago
Elected in 2012

Claire “Yum” Arnold
CEO, Leapfrog Services 
B.A., Mary Baldwin College 
Honorary Doctorate, Mary Baldwin College 
Elected in 2008

Theodore R. Aronson
Founder, Aronson+Johnson+Ortiz 
B.S., The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
M.B.A., The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Elected in 2004
Chair, Investment Committee

Gena Hudgins Ashe, C'83
Former Chief Legal Officer, Brickman Group
B.A., Spelman College
M.S., Georgia Institute of Technology
J.D., Georgetown University Law Center
Elected in 2014

Rosalind G. Brewer C’84
Former President and CEO, Sam's Club
B.S., Spelman College 
Advanced Management Program,The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Elected in 2006
Chair of the Board and Chair, Executive Committee

Mary Brock
Co-Owner, WNBA Atlanta Dream
Elected in 2012

Janine Brown
Partner-in-Charge, Alston & Bird LLP
B.A., University of Michigan 
J.D., Duke University School of Law
Elected in 2008
Chair, Board Affairs Committee

Mary Schmidt Campbell, Ph.D.
President, Spelman College
B.A., Swarthmore College
M.A., Syracuse University
Ph.D., Syracuse University
Ex Officio

Thomas H. Castro
President & CEO, El Dorado Capital, LLC
B.A., Harvard
Elected in 2013

Donald A. Coleman
Chair and CEO, GlobalHue
B.A., University of Michigan
Elected in 2011

Kimberly B. Davis, C’81
Senior Managing Director, Teneo Holdings
B.A., Spelman College
Elected in 2008
Board Secretary and Chair, Human Resources Committee

Mary Lynne Diggs, C'77
Head Start Collaboration Director, South Carolina Department of Social Services
B.A., Spelman College
M.S., Webster University
Elected in 2013

Kaye Foster
Senior Advisor, The Boston Consulting Group
B.A., Baruch College - The City University of New York
M.B.A., Columbia Business School - Columbia University
Elected in 2014

Mya Havard, C'2017
Student Trustee
Major, Mathematics | Minor, Computer Science

Cynthia E. Jackson, C'81
President/CEO, Workforce Loyalty, LLC
B.A., Spelman College
Elected in 2013

Pamela Joseph
President and Chief Operating Officer, TSYS
B.A., University of Illinois
Elected in 2014

Mark Lee, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology,
Spelman College
B.S., Morris Brown College
Ph.D., Clark Atlanta University
Elected in 2015

Richard D. Legon
President, Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges
B.A. and M.P.A., George Washington University (AGB)
Elected in 2011

Gwendolyn Adams Norton
Executive Program, Louisiana State University, 
Graduate School of Banking of the South
B.A., College of William and Mary
Elected in 2008 
Chair, Buildings and Grounds Committee

Helen Smith Price, C'79
Vice President of Global Community Affairs, The Coca-Cola Company Foundation
President of The Coca-Cola Company Foundation
B.S., Spelman College
M.B.A., Clark Atlanta University
Elected in 2016

D’Rita Melinda Robinson, C’97
Founder and CEO, Chatty Guest
B.S. Spelman College
Elected in 2016

Dr. Loren K. Robinson, C'2003
Deputy Secretary for Health Promotion & Disease Prevention, Pennsylvania, Department of Health
B.A., Spelman College
M.D., Duke University School of Medicine
M.S.H.P., University of Pennsylvania
Elected in 2017

Lovette Twyman Russell, C’83
Community Advocate and Volunteer
B.A., Spelman College
Elected in 2009
Chair, Student Affairs Committee

Suzanne F. Shank
President and CEO, Siebert Brandford Shank & Co., LLC
B.S., Georgia Institute of Technology
M.B.A., The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Elected in 2011

Ronda E. Stryker
Director, Stryker Corporation 
B.A., University of Northern Colorado 
M.A., Western Michigan University 
Elected in 1997 
Vice Chair of the Board and Chair, Development Committee

Colleen J. Taylor, C’90
Executive Vice President, Head of Treasury Management and Enterprise Payments, Capitol One Bank
B.A., Spelman College
M.B.A., University of Pennsylvania
Elected in 2016

Kathy N. Waller
Vice President and Controller, The Coca-Cola Company 
B.A., University of Rochester
M.B.A., William E. Simon School of Business Administration, University of Rochester
Elected in 2009
Chair, Audit Committee

Celeste Watkins-Hayes, Ph.D., C’96 
Associate Professor of Sociology and African American Studies, Northwestern University
Faculty Fellow, Institute for Policy Research, Northwestern University 
B.A., Spelman College
M.A. and Ph.D., Harvard University
Elected in 2009
Vice Chair of the Board and Chair, Student Affairs Committee



Tara L. Buckner, C’87, National Alumnae Association Spelman College President 
Imani Dixon, C’2017, Spelman Student Government Association President
Kathleen Phillips Lewis, Ph.D., Faculty Council President

Life Trustees

Peggy Dulany, Ed.D.
Marian Wright Edelman, Esq., C’60
Russell Edgerton, Ph.D.
Robert Holland, Jr.
June Gary Hopps, Ph.D., C’60
Yvonne Jackson, C'70 
Elizabeth McCormack, Ph.D.
G.G. Michelson
Vicki Palmer

Spelman Messenger - Spelmanite Trustees