About Us: News and Events

News Releases

Spelman College is a Top Producer for Fulbright Students

Media Contact:

Audrey Arthur
Spelman College

ATLANTA (Nov. 16, 2012)
-- For the fifth consecutive year, Spelman College has been named among the colleges and universities that have produced the most 2012-2013 U.S. Fulbright students. The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government’s flagship international educational exchange program.

Five Spelman College students won Fulbright awards. The following students were awarded assistantships to teach English abroad: Taylor Allen C’2012 (Korea), Arienne Jones C’2012 (Spain), Tangiah Royster C’2012 (India), and Alicia Sheares C’2012 (Brazil). Miriam Archibong C’2009 will complete a research fellowship in Singapore.

This year, Spelman ranked 10th among liberal arts colleges. "As Spelman's Fulbright Program adviser, I am very excited that we have made the top-producing baccalaureate institution list for Fulbright Scholarships again,” said Margery Ganz, Ph.D., director of the Spelman College Study Abroad & International Exchange Program. “With more than 10,000 Fulbright applicants, we are pleased with Spelman’s five winners who are women who want to change the world.”

Almost 1,700 American students, artists, and young professionals in more than 100 different fields of study have been offered Fulbright Program grants to study, teach English, and conduct research in more than 140 countries throughout the world beginning this fall.    

Of the 1,700 Fulbrighters, 19 percent are at the Ph.D. degree level, 17 percent are at the master’s level, and 65 percent are at the bachelor’s degree level.  Students receiving awards for this academic year applied through 600 colleges or universities.  Lists of Fulbright recipients are available at: fulbrightonline.org/us.

Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 318,000 participants — chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential — with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.  In the past 66 years, more than 44,000 students from the United States have benefited from the Fulbright experience.

The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.  The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the United States Congress to the Department of State. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support.  The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, composed of 12 educational and public leaders appointed by the president of the United States, formulates policies for the administration of the Fulbright Program, establishes criteria for the selection of candidates and approves candidates nominated for awards.       

In the United States, the Institute of International Education administers and coordinates the activities relevant to the U.S. Student Program on behalf of the U.S. Department of State, including conducting an annual competition for the scholarships. The Fulbright Program also awards grants to American teachers and faculty to conduct research and teach overseas.  In addition, some 4,000 new foreign Fulbright students and scholars come to the United States annually to study for graduate degrees, conduct research and teach at U.S. universities, colleges and secondary schools.

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit fulbright.state.gov.

About Spelman College
Founded in 1881, Spelman College is a highly selective, liberal arts college widely recognized as the global leader in the education of women of African descent. Located in Atlanta, Ga., the college’s picturesque campus is home to 2,100 students. Outstanding alumnae include Children's Defense Fund founder Marian Wright Edelman; Sam’s Club CEO Rosalind Brewer; JPMorgan Chase Foundation President Kimberly Davis; former acting Surgeon General and Spelman’s first alumna President Audrey Forbes Manley; Harvard College Dean Evelyn Hammonds; author Pearl Cleage; and actress LaTanya Richardson Jackson. For more information, visit www.spelman.edu.
Inside Spelman

News Center

Contact Us


Events Calendar