About Us: News and Events

News Releases

Spelman Finalist In Competition To Find Most Innovative Climate Leaders

For Immediate Release

Media Contact(s): 

Spelman College
Terrilyn Simmons
404-270-5822 (office) 

The ACUPCC Contact: 
Andrew Graham

(646) 385-0189

ATLANTA (March 14, 2012) -- Spelman College has been named a finalist in the Second Nature 2012 Climate Leadership Awards, a national competition among colleges and universities to earn the title of “Most Innovative Climate Leader.”

The awards program is sponsored by Second Nature, a national nonprofit that seeks to create a sustainable society by transforming higher education, and PlanetForward, a media company that publishes news, opinion, and insight about energy, climate, and sustainability.

“Being selected a finalist for the 2012 Climate Leadership Awards underscores Spelman’s dedication and leadership in making sustainability a way of life, not just on Spelman’s campus, but across the world,” said Arthur E. Frazier III, AIA, director, Facilities Management & Services, Spelman College.

"Because sustainability is a lifestyle that addresses today's economic crises, not a set of disparate technologies or principles, there is no better place to begin building a culture of sustainability than at America's colleges and universities," said Anthony Cortese, co-founder of Second Nature. "The 2012 finalists represent the best of the best institution-wide approaches to teaching and action. We urge all colleges and universities to build off these ideas to promote sustainability systemically.”

Public voting and timeline

The awards will feature a public, online voting component. Each finalist institution has produced a video that promotes their specific sustainability efforts in hopes of earning the designation. Visitors will log their votes using their profiles on social networks such as Facebook.

Voting will begin March 14 and end a month later at http://planetforward.org/idea/spelman-college-changing-the-world/. PlanetForward will profile the institutions that accumulate the most votes during its “Move the Planet” conference the week of April 16.

Then, in May, the steering committee from the American College & University Presidents' Climate Commitment (ACUPCC), an agreement between nearly 700 colleges and universities to promote sustainability through teaching and action, will select the official 2012 Climate Leadership Award winners. One to two institutions from each Carnegie Classification will receive an award, announced during the ACUPCC Climate Leadership Summit at American University in Washington, DC June 21 and 22. Second Nature is the lead sponsor of the ACUPCC.

More information on the awards is at http://secondnature.org/awards.

Full list of finalists

The following colleges and universities, listed according to their respective Carnegie Classifications, are the 2012 finalists:

Baccalaureate College

Allegheny College, PA
Carleton College, MN
Luther College, IA
Spelman College, GA

Doctorate Granting University

Arizona State University, AZ
Georgia Institute of Technology, GA
New York University, NY
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, IL
University of South Florida, FL

Master’s Colleges & University

Florida Gulf Coast University, FL
Goddard College, VT
University of Central Missouri, MO
William Paterson University of New Jersey, NJ

Associate/Tribal College

Austin Community College District, TX
Chandler – Gilbert Community College, AZ
Glendale Community College, AZ
Haywood Community College, NC

Special Focus Institutions/Other

Pratt Institute and PALS, NY
SUNY Upstate Medical University, NY
University of California System, CA

# # #

About Spelman College
Founded in 1881, Spelman College is a highly selective, liberal arts college widely recognized as the global leader in the education of women of African descent. Located in Atlanta, Ga., the college’s picturesque campus is home to 2,100 students. Outstanding alumnae include Children's Defense Fund founder Marian Wright Edelman; Sam’s Club CEO Rosalind Brewer; JPMorgan Chase Foundation President Kimberly Davis; former acting Surgeon General and Spelman’s first alumna President Audrey Forbes Manley; Harvard College Dean Evelyn Hammonds; author Pearl Cleage; and actress LaTanya Richardson Jackson. For more information, visit www.spelman.edu.

About Second Nature
Second Nature works to create a healthy, just, and sustainable society by transforming higher education. Second Nature is the lead supporting organization of the American College and University Presidents' Climate Commitment, a growing network of over 675 signatory higher education institutions in all fifty states that have made a public commitment to transform the educational experience for all students so they are prepared to solve the climate crisis.

Learn more at: www.secondnature.org.

About the ACUPCC
The ACUPCC is a high-visibility effort to address global warming by garnering institutional commitments from college and universities to accelerate the education, research and community engagement to equip society to re-stabilize the earth's climate, and eliminate net greenhouse gas emissions from their own operations.

Learn more at: www.presidentsclimatecommitment.org.

Inside Spelman


Events Calendar

News Center

Contact Us